To NaNoWriMo or not to NaNoWriMo

Autumn has arrived in Portland and I am greatly enjoying it.  We’ve had some sunny weekend days, but I personally like the misty, rainy days as well.  If nothing else, they’re certainly better for being productive.  With November fast approaching, however, it’s time for writers to make a critical decision.

November is National Write a Novel Month, or NaNoWriMo.  The idea is to write so much every day that at the end of the month you have a novel.  It’s a great idea, and it’s good for writers to have  such a concrete goal.  A novel can be an intimidating prospect and this is one of the better ways of confronting it.

I don’t think I can participate, however.  I’m a slow writer, averaging 1000-2000 words a day on a good day.  I revise a lot, and write everything non-sequentially.  There’s not really time for thinking in NaNoWriMo, which is the point of course, but I don’t want to spend a month writing something that is either worthless or will take another couple months of extensive edits.

My personal goal, however, is to write 4 stories in the 2000-3000 word range.  One a week, on average.  I’m mostly writing long-hand these days, so it will be fun to see if I can do it.  And for all those foolish, er, brave enough to write their novels next month, good luck!

3 thoughts on “To NaNoWriMo or not to NaNoWriMo

  1. Pingback: Uh-Oh! Nanowrimo! | Be Obscure Clearly

Leave a Reply

