Progress Report: Lifeless

I am a lazy writer. I would way rather, it seems, read about the national politics of Uzbekistan or watch reruns of Cheers than actually write.

At this point, either of these could be me.

So on September 15, in a conversation with my two closest writing friends, we made goals for ourselves. Mine was to write 10,000 words by the end of the month. For some, that would take a good day. I hope to be that fast some day. For the current me, however, it felt like the ultimate hubris to even pretend I could do it.

But I made it. The prose is probably a little rougher than I’d prefer, but that can all be polished in a rewrite. I’m at, as the sidebar tells you, 60,000 words and have (maybe) another 20,000 to go. Based off what I did this month, I’d like to be finished with the rough draft by Halloween. We’ll see what happens.

Leave a Reply

