2012: A Mitigated Success

You may recall that after a big writing year in 2010, I was a little bummed with 2011. Well, I’m happy to say that while perhaps my wildest dreams weren’t reached, 2012 was a good year.

I submitted stories 59 different times (some of those, obviously, were the same stories caught in the rinse of rejection).

Three markets disintegrated while my story was with them, and I’m still waiting to hear back on 7 of them. Some were submitted as long ago as June.  Editors are busy, I know, but this isn’t a game for the impatient.

4 of those led to story sales, including my biggest sale yet.  Interestingly, of the 4 stories I sold, three of them were in written in 2008 or before.  (The fourth was written this year, though, so nothing too meaningful there).

I kept track of my writing this year and ended up with almost 50,000 new words (not counting blog posts, of course).    My best month was April, where I accounted for 13,400 of them.  My worst month was November, where I wrote 0.

I finished my book, now called “Empire of the Undead.”  I worked for quite a while on the query letter, and so far it’s garnered some slight interest.  I’ll keep sending that out, and I have 30 pages of notes for my next book (unrelated to both Romans and zombies).

In addition, I completed four short stories this year.  I’ve sold one of them and feel confident that I’ll find homes for the other three.  The rights to my Cthulhurotica story have reverted back to me, so I can look for places that accept reprints now as well.

I’m not sure what 2013 will bring.  I had a lot of time to write in 2012, and I’ll be on the road for all of this year.  Nonetheless, I’ve got a notebook and my lucky pen, so I’m hoping I get some stuff done.

How was 2012 for you?  Do you have plans for a big 2013?

4 thoughts on “2012: A Mitigated Success

  1. Thanks! And I hope so too. As to the pen, it’s not really that lucky, actually. But I stole it from Air Korea 2 years ago and I still have it. So I’ve taken to calling it my lucky pen.

  2. Pingback: 2015 – Running to Stand Still | Be Obscure Clearly

Leave a Reply

