Reading Time: Children’s Story

A long time ago, I promised a friend that I would write her a children’s story for class.  I actually started it that day, almost finished it.  I got stuck though because I can’t draw and what good is a kid’s story without pictures?

So I put it aside.  I found it again yesterday, finished it up, and sent it off to her.  She doesn’t even teach story class anymore, but ESL teachers need a lot of extra stuff in their class.  I think it might be fun to write a book that the children could themselves illustrate.

Anyway, in case anyone would like to read it, here is the first (and probably only) children’s story I’ve written.

June’s Waterpark Birthday

 June woke up very early.  He was excited.  Today was his birthday, and he was seven years old.

He had a special breakfast—pancakes, kimchi, and cider!  Cider for breakfast!

Afterward, his parents each gave him a birthday present.  His father gave him the best present ever.  It was a shiny new watch.

His mother told him that her present was a surprise.

“What is a surprise?” June asked.

“Something unexpected.  Something you don’t know,” his mom said.  “Now hurry up or we’ll be late.”

June got dressed and they left their apartment and got onto the bus.  June liked the bus.

“Where are we going?” he asked.

“Shhh.  It’s a surprise,” his father said, winking at him.

June watched out the window, but they were in a new part of town.  He did not know where they were.

Suddenly, there was a sign in front of them.  It had sharks, octopuses, seahorses, jellyfish, and other ocean animals.

The sign said:  “Welcome to Seoul English Waterpark!!!”

“Is this my surprise?” June asked.  He was very happy.

“Yes,” his mom said.  “Happy birthday, little June.”

They stepped out of the bus.  But June’s birthday was in February, so it was cold and windy.  The large Korean flag in the waterpark was blowing very much.

“Where do we go first?” June asked his mother.

“Let’s shop here first,” his mother said.  She pointed to the giftshop.

“Good,” June said.  “I love shopping.”

They stepped out of the wind into shop.  June saw many good toys, cups, hats, pens, and dolls.  His mother gave him 20,000 won and said he could buy anything he wanted.

He wanted to buy everything but his Dad said, “No, it is time to see the shark’s feeding.”

“I love shark’s feeding!” June said.  He ran out of the giftshop, and toward the sharktank.

But June ran too fast.  He looked around him, but he could not see his parents anymore.  They were missing!

June did not cry, because he was not a baby anymore, but he was very worried.

The shark was in front of him, swimming in his tank.  He was eating a large fish, and his sharp teeth were very shiny.  The shark looked at him.

“I want to eat you, little boy!” the shark said.

June ran away.

Now he was very lost.  He did not know where he was.  But there was a very big, very strange looking animal in the tank next to him.  It was entirely white.

“Hello,” June said.  “I’m June and it’s my seventh birthday.  Who are you?”

The creature was friendly.  “I’m a narwhale,” he said.

“Why are you white?” June asked.

“I’m not just any narwhale.  I’m a vanilla narwhale.  Hey, are you okay?”

“No, I am not okay.  I cannot find my parents,” June said.  “I’m lost.”

“That’s a worry!” the narwhale said.  “Your parents are very kind and they must be missing you.”

“What can I do?” June asked.

“I think I can help you,” the vanilla narwhale said.  “But first you must help me.  As you know, New Year is coming.  I need a Korean flag.  Can you help me?”

June nodded happily.  “I can help you, I can help you,” he said eagerly.

“Good.  Then I can help you,” the narwhale said.  “But just one word of advice.  Do not go near the shark.  He is very mean and very dangerous.”

June could see the large flag blowing in the wind.  It was very close.  He ran toward it.

He found the pole and climbed up very high.  The wind was very, very strong, and he could hear people say “What is that boy doing?”  But June was very brave.  He took the flag and climbed back down.

Some people shouted at him but he did not listen.  He ran back to the vanilla narwhale.

The Narwhale was very pleased and he says, “Thank you June.  You are a good boy.  I do not know where you parents are, but perhaps the octopus knows.”

June followed the directions toward the octopus. He had to pass the shark tank again, and again the shark smiled at him with his shiny teeth.

“I still want to eat you, little boy,” the shark said.

June ran away from the shark.  Soon he found the octopus.  It was pink.

“Hello,” June said.  “I’m June and it’s my seventh birthday.  Who are you?”

The creature was friendly.  “I’m an octopus,” he said.

“Why are you pink?” June asked.

“I’m not just any octopus.  “I am a strawberry octopus.  Hey, are you okay?”

“No, I am not okay.  I cannot find my parents,” June said.  “I’m lost, and the narwhale said I should come to you.”

“I can help you,” the strawberry octopus said.  “But first you must help me.  As you know, an octopus can shoot ink.  But I am all out.  I need more ink.

June nodded happily.  “I can help you, I can help you,” he said eagerly.

“Good.  Then I can help you,” the octopus said.  “But just one word of advice.  Do not go near the shark.  He is very mean and very dangerous.”

June found the giftshop.  His parents were not there.  He found the 20,000 won and bought 20 pens.  Each pen was only 1000 won!

He took all the pens and ran back to the octopus.  Some people shouted at him but he did not listen.

The Octopus was very pleased and he says, “Thank you June.  You are a good boy.  I do not know where you parents are, but perhaps the seahorse knows.”

June followed the directions toward the seahorse. He had to pass the shark tank again, and again the shark smiled at him with his shiny teeth.

“I still want to eat you, little boy,” the shark said.  “And I’m getting HUNGRY!”

June ran away from the shark.  Soon he found the seahorse.  It was tan.

“Hello,” June said.  “I’m June and it’s my seventh birthday.  Who are you?”

The creature was friendly.  “I’m a seahorse,” he said.

“Hello, seahorse.  Why are you tan?”

“I am not just any seahorse,” said the seahorse.  “I am a caramel seahorse. Hey, are you okay?”

“No, I am not okay.  I cannot find my parents,” June said.  “I’m lost, and the octopus said I should come to you.”

“I can help you,” the caramel seahorse said.  “But first you must help me.  As you know, every horse has a saddle.  But I have none.”

June nodded happily.  “I can help you, I can help you,” he said eagerly.

June took off his watch and wrapped it around the seahorse.  He was sad to lose his watch, but the seahorse was very happy.

“Hooray, I am a real horse now!  Thank you June.  You are a good boy.  I do not know where you parents are, but the starfish knows everything.”

June followed the directions toward the starfish. He had to pass the shark tank again, and again the shark smiled at him with his shiny teeth.

“I still want to eat you, little boy,” the shark said.  “Yum Yum Yum.”

June ran away from the shark.  Soon he found the starfish.  It was brown.

“Hello,” June said.  “I’m June and it’s my seventh birthday.  Who are you?”

The creature was friendly.  “I’m a starfish,” he said.

“Why are you brown?” June asked.

“I’m not just any starfish.  “I am a chocolate starfish.  Hey, are you okay?”

“No, I am not okay.  I cannot find my parents,” June said.  “I’m lost, and the seahorse said I should come to you.”

“I know where your parents are,” the chocolate starfish said.  “But first you must help me.  As you know, stars are very shiny.  But I have no shine.  Can you help me?”

June nodded happily.  “I can help you, I can help you,” he said eagerly.

He ran away, toward the shark tank.  He could hear people shouting, but he didn’t listen.  He was very brave and he jumped INTO the shark tank.

The shark was very happy.  “Yummy little boy,” he said, swimming toward June.  The shark opened his mouth very wide and had lots of shiny, sharp teeth.

June punched the shark in the nose.  With his other hand, he pulled out a handful of the shark’s teeth.  They were very sharp, so he was careful.

The shark started crying.

June was very wet, and cold, but he found the chocolate starfish.  He gave the teeth to him, and they sank into his chocolate body.

Suddenly, the sun came out and the starfish shone very brightly.

“Thank you June.  Now I am a real star.  You are a good friend.”

“Where are my p-p-parents?” June asked.  He was shivereing.

“Your parents are right behind you, June.  They have been looking for you this whole time.”

“June, you are safe!” said his father.

“We were so worried,” said his mother.

“Where did you go?” June asked.

“We saw you climb the flag,” said his mother.  “That was very dangerous.  We yelled at you but you did not hear us.”

“And we saw you buy many pens.  We shouted at you but you ran away again,” said his father.

“And we saw you give your watch to the seahorse.  That was very kind,” his mother said.

“Finally we saw you jump into the shark tank.  That was very, very dangerous.  But very brave,” said his father.

“Yes,” said his mother.  “You are a very brave boy.  But you need to be a good listener.  Okay, June”

“Okay, I will be a good listener from now on,” June said.

“Let’s get some ice cream.  What flavor do you want?” his mother asked.  “Vanilla?”

“Strawberry?” his father asked.

“Caramel” his mother asked.

“Chocolate?” his father asked.

“None of those!  I want melon,” June said.  They all laughed.

It was the best birthday ever.

THE END

Leave a Reply

