Some interesting quotes on writing

For some reason, I never really got into Terry Pratchett. I tried to read several of his books but although I love Douglas Adams and Monty Python and even (in high school at last) Tom Holt I just never enjoyed the works of Sir Pratchett. Not even Good Omens.

But I do love these two quotes on the fantasy genre from him.

Fantasy is an exercise bicycle for the mind. It might not take you anywhere, but it tones up the muscles that can.

Stories of imagination tend to upset those without one.”

Terry Pratchett

I also found some resonance in this statement from Ray Bradbury. It comes at a time I am getting my first bad reviews from strangers on Amazon and Goodreads and so back to drinking I go!

You must stay drunk on writing so that reality cannot destroy you.”

Leave a Reply

