31 Days of Halloween – Day 2: The Addams Family

day2

“What’s this? Tears on our very own holiday?

We’re still easing into October so I broke out a special Halloween episode of Addam’s Family. This is the one where Wednesday is told there are no witches so she starts to doubt Halloween. To reassure her, the family holds a seance to contact their Aunt Singe, who died in the Salem witch trials. Through some posturing by Lurch and mistaken identity from an unlucky scavenger hunter, they end up convinced that their Aunty has visited them after all.

 

What did you think?

Nahid. It was fun because I’ve never seen them before. It was old but still it was cool. I didn’t like the canned laughter. (She kept asking me what gomez was.because she thought Morticia was a vampire.)

What was your favorite part?

Nahid. The parts with the Grandmother.

What was your least favorite part?

Nahid. The part where they were bobbing for apples. For one thing, I think they replayed the footage the second time. For another, it felt like filler. It didn’t tie into the episode.

Do you think you’d watch this again?

I’d watch it again and I wouldn’t even hate watching other episodes.

My thoughts: I love the Addams family with un-examined wholeheartedness. So I can’t even try to be rational. I especially liked a few of Gomez’s lines in this one: “What fiend uttered that vile canard?” Gomez, when Wednesday says she was told witches aren’t real. It is interesting to see that in the 60’s, some 60 years ago now, Halloween was already worthy of a special episode.
I couldn’t find it on youtube but if you want to see this episode click here: WATCH THE ADDAM’S FAMILY

Leave a Reply

