31 Days of Halloween – Day 6: Trolljegeren

day6

 

We head to the icy fjords of Norway for today’s entry. Trolljegeren, or Trollhunter, is a found footage deal that incorporates fairy tales like “Three Billy Goats Gruff” and “Askeladden” but places them in a wry, dark, modern setting.

I didn’t even tell Nahid what we were watching and so she had fun guessing where it was going.

What did you think?

Nahid. It was interesting. For one thing, maybe because it’s not American, it had a different style. Trolls are not much done outside of Tolkienien fantasy so I liked seeing them in a horror milieu. The Troll design was good, like those paintings (she means Kittelsen).

I got a little bored because it was a bit slow and after the first troll reveal there’s not much point because there’s not much of a story going. The camera man should have died in the second encounter, maybe. Between the first troll and when the camera man died, it felt like filler. It’s like: I have seen the Troll, and after that full frontal reveal the story needs to get going.

I would not call it horror, rather hidden disaster or thriller. But I felt weird. I don’t know if it was the dark gloom of Norway, but I feel my mortality coming. I’m aware of my death and The End.

What was your favorite part?

Nahid. The Mountain Troll in the end I quite liked. The first troll was interesting too. When they were traveling, it was pretty, though it was too dark to see the scenery really well.

What was your least favorite part?
Nahid. The pacing I didn’t like. Also the parts with the government dude. He wasn’t intimidating at all. In mo part, was it set up that he was an intimidating person so it didn’t set up the ending very well.

Do you think you’d watch this again?
Nahid. Not unless it’s forced on me, or there’s a special occasion.

Like Troll Day?
Nahid. Yeah, like that.

My thoughts. Mostly I wish there really was a Troll Day. How good would that be? This movie is super great; in my book it’s the best found footage movie I’ve seen. That said, I kind of think it would have been better as a traditional narrative. Anyway, giving scientific reasons for Trolls and creating a modern mythology using ancient bits of folklore is super terrific. And the subtle humor that imbues the story is a real strength as well. All in all, while it’s not really a horror movie and it’s barely a Halloween movie, it’s one that I will continue to rewatch. Especially if we ever get that Troll Day everyone is talking about.

Here’s the trailer if you want to see more.

Leave a Reply

