Feedback & Reviews

Cthulhu Kaiju

51vtjxlhhrl

“This was so much better than I expected! I’ve been reading so many stories in the Mythos that it’s begun feeling super repetitive and stale but THIS I really enjoyed.” Reviewer Heidi on Goodreads

“OMG this was so much fun. Great and Dread Cthulhu finally wakes from his ancient slumber and the world is going down the tubes to the screaming, squirming darkness that devours the human soul. There’s a lot of great characters, warped cultists, and we actually have Cthulhu make a full on personal assault on the human race. Enough eldritch horror to do HPL proud and enough fun to keep modern audiences interested. Well worth the read.”  Reviewer Edmund de Wight on Goodreads

“It is always good to read authors different interpretations of classic characters and this is quite different presenting Cthulhu as a Godzilla type creature yet still retaining the essence of what made him a popular character.” Reviewer Chris on Amazon

“I’d like to see a sequel to this story line” Reviewer Planner Woman on Amazon

Empire of the Undead

Empire of the Undead

“Empire of the Undead by Ahimsa Kerp is really very, very good. Intelligent horror fantasy, a sharp eye for history without sacrificing a plot as solid as rock. Extremely highly recommended.” Damien Walter

“Left me wanting to read more. Staying up later than usual just to read more! Please make some more! Left me speechless in more than one place.” Reviewer Julia on Goodreads

“I would honestly give this six or seven stars. The author’s attention to detail and historical accuracy are fantastic. The characters are terrific and there are scares a-plenty. If you love ancient history and horror, I cannot recommend this fine book enough.” Reviewer johnchris on Amazon

“With zombie fiction being as prevalent as Starbucks, one really has to do something different to set their book apart. Kerp has done just that with this clever mix of history and undead. Actually the first quarter of the story is straight up historical fiction (awesomely detailed and obviously extensively researched) and it’s so good, after reading the book in its entirety I’m not sure if which part I liked the best.” Reviewer Bandit on Goodreads

“Empire of the Undead hits this sweet spot, by setting its zombie apocalypse right in the middle of the Roman empire. Better still, it splits the narrative between the city of Rome itself, and various places on the frontier. I find this particularly appealing because it gives the story a huge sense of scale, giving us the perspective of both the conquerors and the conquered, and how all different echelons of society deal with the threat…I admired the complexity of the story, and how committed the writer was to keeping things dark and dire. The zombies are a constant threat throughout the story, long after the characters have learned how to destroy them. Naturally, the zombie war elephants are a particularly challenging danger.” Bricks of the Dead Review

“The infection itself was portrayed in a manger that offered some unusual twists and the heartless ferocity the Romans employed to face the threat was well articulated in its full horror. I enjoyed the book and will try other books written by this author…Of the three zombie books set in Rome or Byzantium this was the best.” Reviewer James Mullins on Amazon 

The focus here is action, and not the sort of action one sees in a costume drama so much as an action film, though the novel does sort of bring together those two genres, somehow: it’s Roman gladiatorial costume drama and the classic slow-horde zombie apocalypse rolled into one, and it’s mostly about people trying to survive when the world falls apart at the seams…Gord Sellar

Cthulhurotica

The stories I liked most were varied. Some took a more contemporary approach, some had a more streamlined style to Lovecraft’s while hanging onto that imitative flavor. Stand outs for me included: …  “Turning On, Tuning In, and Dropping Out at the Mountains of Madness” by Ahimsa Kerp, which was absolutely saturated in a sixties milieu that felt almost too fun to belong in a Lovecraft world;
Wagging the Fox

My favourite Mythos deity, Nyarlothotep, is the subject of another couple of stories. First there is “Turning On, Tuning In, and Dropping Out at the Mountains of Madness”, for which Ahimsa Kerp deserves tremendous credit in imagining the Crawling Chaos as a 60s guru making deals with gullible and stoned hippies.
Innsmouth Free Press

TURNING ON, TUNING IN, & DROPPING OUT AT THE MOUNTAINS OF MADNESS (Ahimsa Kerp) is probably the first Mythos story I’ve ever read set in ’60s hippie culture. Definitely the most original characterization of Nyarlathotep I’ve seen, at least since Alan Moore’s Neonomicon.
Yog-Sothoth

Hippies and Lovecraftian themes. Oddly interesting, well written and true to the language and behaviors of the day. A good read, and draws nicely to the feelings of being drawn to something that will (and you know it) use you to get what it wants. Euphoria is oddly a touching character and one someone can easily relate to.
— Reviewer Tarl on Goodreads  

The Roads to Baldairn Motte

“I was drawn into the world of Baldairn Motte at once by the rich prose and the promise of high adventure, but it was the characters and the fast moving story that held me literary hostage. I hope there’s a sequel!” — James P. Blaylock

“The Roads to Baldairn Motte is a grand adventure of political struggle interlaced with religious intrigue, as the most powerful men in Fairnlin fight for the throne left empty after the death of the king’s only daughter. Whores become heroes, farmers become freedom fighters and healers strike down the unjust against the backdrop of a land in turmoil. The authors have created a rich world that leaps off the page, and characters whose desires and drives carry the reader along with them. Fans of George R R Martin’s Song of Ice and Fire or Paul Hoffman’s The Left Hand of God will relish the excitement of The Roads to Baldairn Motte.”
Misty Massey
“Most interesting to me was the different ways the characters acted heroic.  We tend to think of heroes as larger than life figures who commit acts of great valor.  The authors amply demonstrated that often the greatest heroes aren’t the ones who commit great deeds….  All in all, The Roads to Baldairn Motte contains some of the best and most thought provoking studies in heroism at the individual level that I’ve seen in quite a while.”—  Rogue Blades Entertainment
“Overall, the dialogue was strong, and the writing showed some definite flair. The Roads to Baldairn Motte is an interesting tale, both in terms of structure and content, and definitely worth a read.”—  Beauty in Ruins

From Fiction Vortex, and why they picked The Society of Righteous and Harmonious Fists as their story of the month.

fictionvortex

We picked The Society of Righteous and Harmonious Fists, by Ahimsa Kerp because we have a thing for long titles. That’s it, really.

Okay, that’s not true. We love this story because it’s just the right dose of steampunk wonderment mixed with a vivid and believable description of a real time in human history. It’s also a coming of age tale that beautifully illustrates the moment when we learn that the world is not as simple, or as just, as we previously believed it to be.

This is an important strength of stories, the ability to show both sides. We can see through the eyes of another that the answers are seldom yes/no, black/white, here/there. And The Society of Righteous and Harmonious Fists is a perfect example of this, particularly as a window into a time and place that few people know about anymore.

But also, we really do like the title. How could we not?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s